A 360 km swim

"While swimming in the middle of the ocean, we discovered our responsibility to act on the issues of the nature around us"

IS IT POSSIBLE TO SWIM IN THE SEINE?

Our Health

In the last 200 years, the quality of the water in the Seine has continuously improved. Experts have already assured the sanitary feasibility of this adventure. Though, we are looking to include local authorities to ensure approval.  

The Course

360 km separates Paris from the Havre by the river Seine. The swimmers will relay each other 24/7 for an entire week in 2-hour slots. On this course, they will come encounter 6 barriers, hundreds of boats and 100 km of tidal range.  Hydration, nutrition, and recovery will be key elements in the success off this project. 

Security

A boat and multiple kayaks will follow the adventure to supervise the swimmers, announce their position to other occupants of the river and act as a 'base camp' for recovery fuel stops.  It is an entire team that will make this relay possible. 

DSC_4938.JPG

THE D-DAY

The adventure is due to set off on the 31st May 2021, on World no tobacco day, and arrive in Le Havre on the 8th June 2021, on World Oceans Day. This is the ideal time period to swim in the Seine. There is a smaller chance of rainfall and more sunlight for a cleaner river. 

 

Before setting off for the big adventure, they plan to organise a kayak trip in 2020 down the river to discover the course and its challenges. For training, they also plan to do a 100 km relay and a few other 10km like the Open Swim Star event in Paris. 

THE SWIMMERS EXPERIENCE

Chloe has participated in the world championships of Ironman 70.3, Lucas has completed a dozen triathlons, Louise is an ex national championne in syncronised swimming and Matthieu cycled around the world. They have been swimming together for two years and have swum across la Gironde (8 km), Lake Geneva (13km) and the Strait of Gibraltar (17km). Their most memorable experience was in Lake Baringo in Kenya, in waters infested with crocodiles. 

IMG_2874_edited_edited.jpg

Join the movement

  • Noir Icône Instagram
  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

©2020 par 0 Megot. Créé par Chloé Leger

360 km à la nage

"C’est en nageant, le corps enveloppé dans l’océan, que nous avons pris conscience de notre responsabilité de témoigner de la détresse des milieux marins."

EST-IL POSSIBLE DE NAGER DANS LA SEINE?

La Santé

Depuis les 200 dernières années, la qualité de l'eau de la Seine n'a fait que s'améliorer. Des experts ont déjà assurer la faisabilité sanitaire de l'aventure. Reste à présent à impliquer les préfectures dans la démarche pour débloquer les autorisations légales.

Le Parcours

360 km séparent Paris du Havre par la Seine. Les nageurs se relayeront 24 heures sur 24 durant 7 jours sur des créneaux de 2 heures. Sur le parcours, ils rencontreront 6 écluses, des centaines de péniches et 100 km de marnage. L'hydratation, la nutrition et le repos seront des éléments clés pour la réussite du projet.

La Sécurité

Un bateau et plusieurs kayaks suivront l'aventure pour encadrer les nageurs, avertir leurs positions aux autres embarcations et agir de 'camps de base' pour le repos et le ravitaillement. C'est toute une équipe qui rendra possible ce relais dans la Seine. 

DSC_4938.JPG

LE GRAND DEPART

Le départ est prévu le 31 Mai 2021, la journée mondiale sans tabac.  L'arrivé est donc prévue au Havre le 8 Juin 2021, la journée mondial de l'océan. C'est la période idéale pour nager dans la Seine. En effet les UV du soleil d'été rendent la Seine plus propre et le risque d'averses est plus faible.

 

Avant de s'élancer à l'assaut de la Seine, ils ont prévu une reconnaissance en kayak et vélo en 2020, une traversée en relais de 100 km dans le lac Léman et quelques courses comme le 10km de Paris avec Open Swim Star.

L'EXPERIENCE DES NAGEURS

Chloé a participé aux championnats du monde de semi-Ironman, Lucas a réalisé une dizaine de triathlons, Louise est une ancienne championne de natation synchronisé et Matthieu a fait le tour du monde en vélo. Ils nagent ensemble depuis deux ans et ont traversé la Gironde (8km), le lac Léman (13km) et le Détroit de Gibraltar (17km). Leur expérience la plus marquante était surement la traversée du lac Baringo au Kenya dans une eau infestée de crocodiles. 

IMG_2874_edited_edited.jpg

Rejoignez le mouvement

  • Noir Icône Instagram

©2020 par 0 Megot. Créé par Chloé Leger